

KKNK 2022 Kanna nominees announced

The Klein Karoo Nationale Kunstefees (KKNK) Kanna nominees have been announced.



Source: www.unsplash.com

The Kanna Awards is an awards ceremony traditionally held after the festival to acknowledge exceptional creative contributions during the festival. The ceremony will be presented on 22 April in Cape Town.

The independent Kanna panel had Rafiek Mammon as its convenor and included Gary Naidoo, Laetitia Pople, Diane de Beer, Alby Michaels, Marguerite Robinson and Robyn van de Rhede.

Mammon said, "We, as an independent panel, literally sat in a room every morning before eight to discuss the five or six productions we saw the previous day. And every morning - up to the last day of the festival - these conversations were drenched in passion, seriousness, and love."



Inaugural Fashion Industry Awards South Africa winners revealed 1 Apr 2022

"It is not just that we could have a festival in person, and to have been able to see and hear artists live. It was also about the quality of the work. The quality of the productions at the KKNK was so good the panel literally struggled in putting together a shortlist of nominees under the variety of valued offerings," Mammon continued.

All productions on this year's festival programme were eligible for the 14 awards, but an additional Herrie Award, as well as two other special awards, will be announced at the ceremony later this month.

Here are this year's nominees:

Best debut production (music or theatre)

- Die halwe huis
- Karatara
- Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Terminaal 3

Best theatre production

- Karatara
- · Ek, Anna van Wyk
- · Op hierie dag
- Terminaal 3

Best music production

- · Emo Adams and Take Note
- Nataniël: Prima Donna
- Anna Davel: 21

Best contribution to the visual arts

- Karin Preller for the exhibition Beyond Memory
- Dineke van der Walt as curator of Rich in Fibre
- Nkensani Rihlampfu for the exhibition An Orchestrated Reality

Slurpie Prize: best upcoming artist

- Janion Kennedy in Op hierie dag
- Marinda Ntantiso in Op hierie dag
- Conradie van Heerden in Om skoon te wees
- Adriaan Havenga in Om skoon te wees

Best actress

- Antoinette Kellermann for die oerkluts kwyt
- Tinarie van Wyk Loots for Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Carla Smith for Terminaal 3
- Anna-Mart van der Merwe for Terminaal 3

Best actor

- Marlo Minnaar for Die halwe huis
- Wessel Pretorius for Kiss of the Spiderwoman

- Stian Bam for Terminaal 3
- Edwin van der Walt for Terminaal 3

Best supporting actor

- Carlo Daniels for Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Wilhelm van der Walt for Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Geon Nel for Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Albert Pretorius for Ek, Anna van Wyk

Best supporting actress

- Nomapostile Nyiti and Lungiswa Plaatijes for die oerkluts kwyt
- René Cloete for Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Marinda Ntantiso for Op hierie dag

Best director

- Neil Coppen and Tiffany Saterdaght for Op hierie dag
- Marthinus Basson for Ek, Anna van Wyk
- Gideon Lombard for Karatara
- Marthinus Basson for Terminaal 3

Best theatre design

- Op hierie dag Zietske Zaaiman
- Ek, Anna van Wyk Marthinus Basson
- Karatara Gideon Lombard

Excellent literary contribution

- Frieda van den Heever for adaptation of die oerkluts kwyt from the work of Antjie Krog
- Ricardo Arendse for the newly written text Die halwe huis
- Tiffany Saterdaght and Neil Coppen, with contributions from Janion Kennedy, Hannes Visser, Theo Witbooi and Danny B, for the text of *Op hierie dag*

Best children's or youth theatre

- Pietersielie en Roosmaryn vertel stories
- Liewe Heksie en die rolskaatse

Best Lucky Pakkie production

- Coligny Laer
- Ruby en Roach 'n animasieprent
- Om skoon te wees
- Onder in die bad